Mango Lassi

Let’s begin with celebrating our favorite Indian fruit Mango. I just love mango, who doesn’t..! I would be overjoyed if mangoes were available throughout the year..

Like any Indian mother, I grabbed a few kilos of mango when the price of the mango hit the lowest in the market.  First and foremost, I went ahead and ate some mangoes like I used to when I was a kid…. 😉  Later, since a few mangoes were left out, I decided to make some desserts. These desserts are all well known to us, but let me show you my versions of them.

Whenever I go to a dhaba, lassi is a must. In this scorching summer heat, when everyone was lazing around sitting watching weekend movies, I decided to make lassi, to chill the atmosphere.

 

Recipe

Cuisine: Indian

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

Mangoes- 2 (preferably mangoes with less fiber) peeled and cut into cubes, seed removed.

Curd(plain yogurt)- ½ litre

Sugar-3-4 spoons

Cardamom powder- a pinch(optional)

Vanilla essene-1 tspn(optional)

Milk- 1 cup

Method

  1. Freeze the cut mango cubes for 3-4 hours. The cubes are semi-solid.
  2. Blend the semi-solid cubes in a mixer grinder. Add the curd, sugar along. Check the sweetness. The sugar quantity depends on one’s palate.
  3. To this, add half a cup of milk and the cardamom powder. And blend it again.
  4. If the curd is sour, add half cup of milk more and 1 tspn of vanilla essence. This balances the sourness of the curd. Blend it once again.
  5. Serve it in glass.
Leave a Reply

